Two Different Ice Skating Parties

My granddaughter, Carli, had her 9th birthday recently. She is taking lessons to become a figure skater so the logical birthday party was ice skating at the local ice skating rink. Since she lives in Nashville, and I live in St. Petersburg, I couldn’t be there, but I called her just as she and her family drove up to the skating rink. Since I keep a journal, I remembered as I talked with her about another ice skating party in 1974 for our son Boh. I hope Carli’s skating party turned out better than that one:

June 22, 1974 (Saturday) – We had a wonderful experience yesterday on Bo’s birthday.
We decided that it would be nice to invite his friends over and then take them ice skating. We had read in the paper that the Bayfront arena would be frozen over for skating, but it cost $1.00. Well, the situation was studied, and we decided to have each child bring his dollar which worked out fine. So nine kids showed up and we bundled them off to the Bayfront only to find the arena filled with Jehovah’s Witnesses. There was a convention so the arena was closed to the public. Well, what do you do with nine kids dressed in their warmest for ice skating on a hot June afternoon? I called the Gay Blades roller skating rink, discovered that it was open and that the fee was $1.50. So … go on and splurge, Cooper … and we did. The rink wasn’t air-conditioned, Robin’s, Boh’s sister’s way was paid, but she wouldn’t skate, and one kid spent the entire afternoon on the floor. We had a good time, but I had my wool pants rolled up to my knees and was still in heat.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

