Words Count

I probably spent too much time this week watching the Republican convention in Cleveland, OH. I am fascinated with our politics and will probably spend an equal amount of time next week watching the Democratic convention. I have admitted to you, Readers, that I am disappointed in both party’s candidates this election year. The thing that I am taking from the Republican convention is the lack of praise for Donald Trump and the vilification of Hillary Clinton. My opinion is that the hostile rhetoric regarding Hillary went way over what is acceptable. I understand the tactic of building up the delegates’ excitement, and I’m sure the Democratic convention will have its share of speakers who speak negatives regarding Donald Trump, but I hope the Democrats don’t go overboard the way I think the Republicans did. I wrote my Republican brother once complaining about criticism of President Obama, and he wrote back, “Republicans don’t dislike Obama. They hate him.” That is sad. When politics becomes that divisive and angry, then it is time we re-examine our motives.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

