A Perfect Resolution

There’s nothing more welcoming on a hot summer day than an invitation to enjoy a swim in a friend’s pool. Our friend, Kevin, is wonderful about inviting us down to Sarasota for lunch at Taco Bell followed by a refreshing dip (or two) in his pool. When Kevin says “come on down,” we are ready to hop in the car and head over the Skyway. Our last trip was so typical that we joked about how the process has become a “science.” To thank Kevin for the use of his pool, we paid for lunch. The day was hot with puffy clouds indicating the possibility of rain later. And that’s exactly what happened–thunder, followed by rain. We moved then from poolside to the side porch where we sat until the rain stopped. It was time then to pack up and head home. Because it was still cloudy, I did not need to wear my sunglasses home. This morning, when I hopped in the car to go to the gym, there was no rain, no clouds–just sunshine so, of course, I donned my sunglasses. What in the world! I couldn’t see. I had Kevin’s prescription sunglasses, and I was sure he must have mine. The solution: Kevin is coming up Friday afternoon with my glasses and will stay over the night in order to go bowling with us on Saturday morning. We can’t let missing sunglasses mess up a delightful summer swim in a pool.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

