Stormy-Wetter

This is the time of year when I thrill when the local meteorologists declare a week of 60% rain chances with afternoon and evening thunder showers. I cringe when the same meteorologists declare that we are in a dry pattern with “little change expected.” This week appears to be a middle-of-the-road forecast: 30% to 40%. I don’t like bad storms, especially storms with scary winds, but I do enjoy a good electrical storm with plenty of rain, no power failures, and thunder that indicates the lightning was not nearby. After such a storm, the summer air is cooled radically, and the yard can be heard gurgling, welcoming the water into our sandy ground. As you know here in the city, we are only allowed two days for sprinklers to be turned on. My sprinklers are set for Wednesday and Sunday morning turn-ons, but they don’t come on if there’s has been at least .15 rainfall the previous day, thanks to my Rain Bird. No waste here as I’m on city water.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

