A Change of Heart

Where does racial prejudice come from? Is it inherently a southern thing or is it universal? No one really knows, but we are definitely called to examine what is in our hearts now-a-days with all of the news regarding black men who have been killed by policemen. I was taught prejudice by my parents. They defended the separation of the races while at the same time practicing what they thought was Christian tolerance. Nevertheless, black women who worked in our home entered through the back door and did not sit down with our family. I challenged the rules as a kid but heard my folks defend the “rules.” I remember well hearing my dad talk about a young black man who assisted our family many times. He referred to Joe as a “really nice nigger.” When Dunk, one of the women who assisted in our home, lost her house in a fire, the citizens of my hometown rebuilt that house for her. What a paradox. I have friends today who say, “I’m not prejudiced” but then make statements that definitely challenge evidence of their freedom from bias. Electing the first black President is not the answer. A heart change is the only answer.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Change of Heart

  1. Anonymous says:

    nicely put Thom…bravo!

  2. Anonymous says:

    bravo was said by Eido

Leave a Reply

