The Journalist

In 1954, I went to a state band clinic in Rock Hill, South Carolina, and participated in the all-state band, playing the clarinet. At end of that event, we were each given a little one-year green diary. I was sixteen years old, and I started writing in that journal. At the end of the year, I decided I had enjoyed the journaling and sought another receptacle for my writing. I found the perfect answer when I purchased a tan five-year journal with a lock and key. I kept that journal for three years, writing almost every day. At the end of the third year, 1957, I felt that I wanted more space to write each day so I purchased my first one-year diary on which I could write a full-page. I kept buying the same Dailyaide journals for many years, sometimes skipping days and even months as I grew older and had less time to write. Finally, with the advent of computers, I began to do my writing on a word processor and to transcribe the written journals into online journals, always being careful to back-up the journals. I continue to write daily in my journal and now have the writings I have done since 1954, the story of a large part of my life. Each morning, I read from my backed-up journals what I did on this particular day since 1954. I wonder what someone would think were he/she to read the thoughts and deeds of Thomas Bobo Cooper, Jr., for the past 60 years.

My journals(click to make larger)

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journalist

  1. arcadian48 says:

    What a treasure for you and for your family!

Leave a Reply

