Free Independence Day Parking

On the evening of July 4th, my partner and I drove down to celebrate the 4th fireworks. The logical place to see the patriotic spectacle was from the Dali Museum, adjacent to the Mahaffey auditorium. We had watched the fireworks there year before last and intended to do the same thing again. However, when we drove into the Mahaffey parking lot, we noticed attendants standing at the entrance to the parking lot with cones preventing anyone from entering the lot except through the attendants. I drove up, rolled down the window of my car and asked if there were any programs going on at the Mahaffey to which they indicated there was none. I then asked why they were charging $10.00 for anyone to park in the huge lot, and they said, “We charged last year.” I notified them that I was not going to pay $10.00 and so would circle around and out. I would think surely that the Mahaffey organization would want to encourage people to enjoy 4th of July fireworks without charging them for the privilege. We parked elsewhere and walked from a very remote area to watch the fireworks. By the way, I am handicapped.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Free Independence Day Parking

  1. Anonymous says:

    Bill Edwards is a very greedy fella.

Leave a Reply

