The Missing Queue

I am not only a frequent visitor to our public library, I volunteered at the main library for several years, checking in and stacking books and videos. I always have a list of requests on the reserve list at the library and eagerly check daily to see if any of my requests are being held. In the past, I kept a list of my requests and where they were in the queue. Several years ago, the library announced a change in the process which eliminated the chance to see where you were in the queue. When I protested, I was told that the new non-queue situation would accelerate the process and those of us requesting materials would be the beneficiaries. Recently, that process underwent another updating and before it was put into effect, I asked a librarian if we would again be able to see where we were in the queue. Her reply: “No.” When I asked why, she said, with a smile, “We don’t want you to know.” I have written two complaint letters to the library, complaining not only about the inability to know where I am in the queue but also pointing out that the newest system makes it difficult to tell the difference between large print/regular books and standard and Blu-ray DVDs. It would seem to me that, when a program is being updated, the change should be an improvement.

 

 

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Missing Queue

  1. Anonymous says:

    You are completely right about the Queu Thing— if u can endure the consequence of your act.,if I were you ,I would write to the local newspaper explaining the situation,,,,Eido

Leave a Reply

