Too Long

Because of my proclivity to sunbathe when I was younger, I now must see my dermatologist every three months for a skin cancer checkup. I have had two melanomas, one of which was on my forehead and has left a fairly deep cleft. My dermatologist is an older gentleman, and my only fault with him is the amount of time I spend waiting in his office. A few weeks ago, I had my most recent appointment which was set for 8:10 in the morning. I figured if I were there for an appointment that early, there certainly should not be a horde of patients ahead of me. I was right — only one person who had an 8:00 appointment was waiting. Neither of us was taken back for a checkup on time. I was taken into an examining room about 8:45 and questioned by a nurse regarding my reason for being there and whether or not I had any concerns about my skin. When she left, she said, “The doctor will see you shortly.” When I had waited over thirty minutes, I opened the door, looked out in the hall, and asked a lady standing there what in the world was taking so long. She asked for whom I was waiting and when I told her that I was waiting for my dermatologist, she said, “I think he’s in a meeting.” The good doctor entered the room shortly thereafter but never offered any reason for the delay. I will be seeking another dermatologist. I had been in his office for one hour and twenty minutes.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too Long

  1. Dimitris says:

    Waiting time here to see a Dr is way much WROSE than in my home country, GREECE!
    There maybe 10′ max to wait to see my Doctors when I have an appointment.
    Also no co-pays and it is FREE to see the Doctors if you don’t go private. And when I need a medication (pills) to buy. I pay only the 25%.

  2. Pat Benavides - Tate says:

    Hi Bob!! I know exactly what you are talking about, and many times I had walked out of the doctor’s office to never go back. You make an appointment and then have to wait for an additional amount of time. One of these days I will tell you about my experience at the Laser Spine Institute in Tampa…. what a sales ripoff that was…..

Leave a Reply

