Please Take My Seat

I have been asked to do a follow-up on my recent trip to Greece, Dubai, and Hong Kong. I plan to cover each place with one blog, beginning with Greece. I first visited Athens, Greece, in 1994, traveling with my then companion and dear friends, the Scheibles. That trip also included time in Istanbul. This Greek trip was primarily to visit with Dimitris’ mother and sister who live next door to his flat in Athens. However, while there, although we did not do touristy things, we enjoyed the people of that city and the sites. Athens is not a beautiful city although the beach areas are beautiful. It is a large city bustling with cars and motorbikes, weaving as they race toward a destination. Every time we visit, Dimitris and I spend one evening at the Acropolis museum restaurant, sitting with a view of the Parthenon, that classic monument to the past. This trip we visited two Greek islands: Aegina and Corfu. A visit to a Greek island is a visit in paradise. My biggest impression on this trip was the fact that I never got on public transportation that I wasn’t offered a seat by men, women, and young people. I was greatly impressed with that kind of courtesy.

Greek flag

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Please Take My Seat

  1. Kevin C. says:

    As long as the bus driver didn’t offer you his seat!

Leave a Reply

