The Leaf

During the recent tropical storm that besieged the west coast of Florida for two days, I spent a lot of time staring at my electronic rain gauge. It is set up on a bedside table and measures rainfall captured in a receptacle outside my bedroom window. I am fascinated, especially when the rainfall is heavy. First of all, I am a weather enthusiast and enjoy weather extremes, so long as they don’t hurt people. This storm was well-anticipated with all sorts of weather precautions taken in order to keep everyone safe. The rain began on Monday afternoon and within the next 24 hours, 3.08 inches of rainfall had fallen. About midnight, it began pouring rain again. I could hardly wait to check the gauge the next morning. When I did, the amount of rain was in no way indicative of how hard it had rained during the night. The culprit–a leaf. When I cleared the receptacle, once again the rainfall began to accumulate. At the end of forty-eight hours, we had had over five inches of rain. Oh, if only that leaf hadn’t fallen into the receptacle and prevented the accurate amount of rainfall. I will be looking forward to the next storm and hoping that no more leaves will find their way into my Oregon weather station.

!cid_9186F055E3664E8CB41A164787990A80@OwnerPC

 

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

