My Friend, the Bowler

Years ago, when both of us were teachers at Northeast High school, Rick Coffman and I began challenging each other, first at Trivial Pursuit. In that game, we were not evenly matched, and my getting whomped by him every game eventually made us agree to seek another other avenue, other than IQ, for competition. That turned out to be bowling. I cannot remember exactly how we decided to bowl together, but we did, and the competition began. Our first bowling alley was damaged in a tropical storm and closed. Our second location told us, after we had been bowling there for some time, that they had no room for us as they were courting leagues. Our move to Liberty Lanes was answered prayer as it split the difference each of us had to drive in order to bowl. Sadly, our bowling will come to an end soon, at least for half a year. Rick and his wife will be moving to Connecticut so they can be near their daughter who is expecting a baby in the fall. I must confess that, over the years, Rick has won more games than I, but occasionally I have shown him that I am still in the competition.

Bowling

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

