The 78th

What does it feel like to be 78 years old? I can’t say that it feels any different from what it felt like to be 77 day before yesterday. March 20th, the first day of spring, was my 78th birthday. As usual, I had coupons offering me birthday goodies, including a free Grand Slam breakfast at Denny’s, a full meal (if you buy a drink) at Carmelita’s, and a free meal at First Watch. I had breakfast at Denny’s and a Mexican pizza and a glass of lemonade at Carmelita’s for dinner. As a 78-year-old, I don’t feel a need to get gifts. Life is my gift. Nevertheless, when I arose on my birthday morning, there on my computer desk was a loving birthday card from Dimitris and a package wrapped in left-over wallpaper from the living room. It was beautiful! I waited to open the gift package until Dimitris was awake. It was a portable digital clock, something I have vowed I would never travel again without having one. More than anything tangible though, I had awakened with the knowledge that I am loved. What a birthday blessing that is!

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

