Easy In; Not So Easy Out

When I am cold, the best way for me to deal with the cold is to climb into the tub and fill it with hot water. I mean steamy water, as hot as it can be without causing me to pass out. I take a book with me and am careful not to get it wet. I read a while and then just lounge in the luxury of the tub of hot water. I watch the bathroom mirror as it starts to steam up. I splash the water on the parts of me that are not immersed. I rotate my back from side to side so that the cool water in the back moves down, and the warmer water moves up. Occasionally, I will even use soap although cleansing is not the essential part of this activity. The only problem may come when I have read all I want to read and lounged until I’m toasty warm. The problem is getting out of the tub. I drop in, but I can’t just drop out. I have learned to fold a towel over the side of the tub which gives me something to hold onto besides the slick side of the tub. When this doesn’t work, Dimitris has set up a plan for assistance–ring the little bell he got in Dubai. It works every time and makes me feel so decadent.

DSCN1872Click on the picture.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy In; Not So Easy Out

  1. Tommy says:

    There is a hand grip available that clamps on the side of the tub which will make your exit easier. I believe I might have seen them at Walgreens or the store at Diston Plaza that sells senior assist type equipment.

  2. I love this website – its so usefull and helpfull

  3. Wow because this is very excellentexcellent job! Congrats and keep it up

Leave a Reply

