Renewing Mockingbird

Many, I’m sure, must have noticed that we lost a great American novelist last week–Harper Lee, author of the novel To Kill A Mockingbird. I remember reading the book years ago before seeing the movie. The story, for me, was very important as it basically went against what I had been taught which was that Negroes should be kept “in their place.” Although I was never taught to disrespect black people, I was admonished that they should not be allowed to become “uppity.” When I read Harper Lee’s novel as a teenager, I found myself sympathizing with Atticus Finch and realizing that he was right. It was perhaps the beginning of my crawling out of the prejudiced dogma that I had been taught. Still, on occasion, I find myself slipping back into a thought that is based on prejudice, but I toss it out quickly. The night after Harper Lee died, my partner and I re-watched the movie based on her great novel and celebrated her writing and pondering the results, such as the election of Barack Obama, the first African-American president.

th

 

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Renewing Mockingbird

  1. EIDO says:

    last sunday i forgot to tell you that in italian the title was translated into THE DARK BEYOND THE BUSH… we dont have mockinbirds in Italy so the original title would have been unclear…I think that it was a great title in italian too!

Leave a Reply

