Thursday Is Weigh-In Day

As of Thursday, February 18, I weigh 188.8 pounds, am five feet nine and one-half inches tall, and am 77 years old. A couple of years ago, I stepped on some kind of machine that was supposed to tell me how appropriate or inappropriate my weight was, and it said, “You are obese.” I am happy to say that since that time, I have trimmed down but not by going on a diet. I don’t believe in diets. They are artificial and may cause you to lose weight but, unless your regular diet changes, that weight usually returns. To me the only way to lose weight is to eat appropriately and wisely and exercise. I grew up without any kind of exercise routine. When I was teaching, I did little exercise other than pushing my pen and pencil around grading papers. Since my retirement and after a bout with some heart trouble, I have begun a nice regimen of exercise. For a while, I attended Silver Sneakers, an exercise program for seniors. I also joined a gym and began riding the bike after having some problems with my feet while exercising on the treadmill. I am glad that I never got into all of the artificial diets and instead began to exercise. By the way, I went from my all-time high weight of 213 to my present weight.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday Is Weigh-In Day

  1. Pat says:

    My doctor offers a weight management class. Starts off once a week, then every other week. If you have lost 6.6 lbs at the end of 6 months, Medicare will continue to pay for the next 6 months of monthly classes. It is not a diet. It’s a lifestyle change. With foot and knee problems, exercise is not easy, so I push myself when I’m unpacking, etc after my move to new home 4 months ago. I lost 16 lbs the first year, but am still considered obese, so am continuing with the program. Have found lots of recipes that I have acquired over the years, so am going to work a little harder this year and see how much more I can take off. Pround of you, Thom. Wish me luck as I work a little harder this time. Patricia

Leave a Reply

