My Little Sneak

While I was teaching at Northeast High school, I moved out of my home and lived alone in several different locations. Eventually, I had a house built and moved into my new house by myself. Some of my fellow teachers encouraged me to get a pet. I struggled against their suggestion as I did not want to be pinned down with a dog or a cat. Finally, one of the ladies insisted I check out a cat belonging to a policeman who had married a lady with a child who was abusing the cat. I agreed to meet the cat but warned that, unless it was love at first sight, I was not taking a pet. When I saw the cat I couldn’t believe my eyes. He was a silver-haired Persian, and his name was Trooper. How could I turn down such a beautiful animal whose name would be Trooper Cooper? So Trooper came to live with me. I have learned that some cats are darters and scoot out when you’re standing chatting with someone. Trooper was not one of those. He was a sneak. While I was talking, he would slowly pass under my legs and slither into the yard. Since he was not an outdoor cat, I would always panic, but he would, before long, slither back home, acting as though he had done only what any adventurous cat would have done.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

