Timeless

When I had a watch on my arm, I was a “clock watcher.” This compulsion is similar to my watching a TV in an office or restaurant even though I have no interest in what is showing. Because of my compulsion to check a watch every few minutes, I banned watches from my arm. I haven’t worn a watch in years, and it has improved my patience so very much. I don’t get bored in church during the sermon since I don’t know how long ago it was started. I have no trouble waiting in a doctor’s office so long as I don’t know how long I’ve been there. I never worry about finding out what time it is as there are clocks almost everywhere. In fact, there are several clocks in my house and, of course, the internet provides very accurate clock time. One of the irritants in our house is my chiming clock. Dimitris doesn’t insist that I mute it, but he does close the door to our bedroom every night to muffle the sound of the chimes which sound from the kitchen on the hour and half-hour. Thank goodness, I did not receive a watch when I ended my teaching career as a retiree certainly doesn’t need to know what time it is every second. I pride myself on always being on time, but that doesn’t require wearing a watch.

my-clock1

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

