The Laxative and the Bug

One of life’s challenges is dealing with aging. I now take four prescription pills for blood pressure, cholesterol, and whatever ails me. I add to that batch a “baby aspirin.” I have my little weekly slot box for those pills so I seldom miss. Added to the prescription pills, I also take each day a vitamin, a fiber-cap, and two stool softeners, recommended by my doctor. I have never had a problem taking pills but have trouble getting any kind of liquid medication down. The prescription pills, I take anytime between lunch and dinner. I take the non-prescription pills in the morning before drinking my cup of coffee. I have written a blog about my belief that pills somehow have the power of locomotion. One morning this week, I poured out my morning dosage, counting to see if I ended up with four pills. The stool softeners are little red globs and not easy to pick up. As I reached for the pills, one of the red softeners scooted off my desk. I heard it hit the floor but searched in vain for the pill that had run to the edge of my desk and jumped. I never found it and must hope that some stray bug or wayward lizard will find it and have a nice bowel movement.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

