The Skylight

In 1989, I decided that, instead of moving into a condo, I would build a house. I had met a builder who said he could build me a house for the amount I was willing to invest in a condo so we talked. He gave me a floor plan that I was required to use in order to get the price we had agreed on. I was allowed to make some changes, however, so long as they didn’t veer from the three bedrooms, two baths, kitchen and living room. When I looked at the size of the living room, I realized that I would never get my full grand piano into that space and still have any living room left. Since I was due to have a front garage, I asked if I could have a carport in back instead of the front garage, using the garage space instead for additional living room space. He agreed. I then asked for a cathedral ceiling in the kitchen. He okayed that. Next, I asked for a skylight in the living room. So far, so good. Finally, I requested something I had always wanted–a fireplace. After this request, he confronted me, saying, I could have either a fireplace or a skylight. Not both. I chose the skylight, and it was the best decision I ever made regarding my house. The skylight was plastic and, after ten years, the sun had baked it so that it had become opaque. During a windstorm, that skylight was lifted off the roof and deposited in the side yard. I replaced it with one that was glass. Years later, it is as clear as can be, and I can see the clouds, the sky, and occasionally the moon from inside my living room. I made the right choice.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Skylight

  1. Dimitris says:

    Yes, you took the right decision. And now I can enjoy the Skylight too.

  2. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i happy to convey that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to don forget this website and give it a look on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

