My Surprise Tomato Crop

I love growing vegetables. In the past, I have grown tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers, squash, and okra. Growing vegetables is a challenge here in central Florida because of the high nighttime temperatures. The best time to grow tomatoes is in September and January. Of course, the grower has to deal with the cold spells with the January crop. I haven’t tried growing any vegetables lately as I love to travel and neglect is not a good trait for farming. Recently, I had a tomato and a cucumber go bad in my refrigerator. Because of the careful recycling we all do now-a-days, I didn’t want to put them in the non-recycling bin so dropped both of them in my flower garden, knowing they would sink into the soil and perhaps produce some beneficial nutrients. Imagine my surprise a few days later when I saw seedlings popping up, quite a few of them. They have to be tomato plants as they are arising from the area where I dropped the bad tomato. Hallelujah! I’m going to have a tomato crop. However, it must produce before mid-April when I take my next trip, this time to Athens, Greece, with a side trip to Hong Kong.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

