A Wonderful Encourager

After I decided to accept myself as a gay man, I faced not only challenges from my family but also challenges from myself. My best friend and male roommate had told me that “some day you will celebrate your gayness.” That seemed totally impossible at the time. However, I eventually came to realize that being gay was the way God had created me. One of my greatest encouragers was not another gay man but a lady for whom I have grown to have tremendous admiration. She is the widow of a life-time diplomat and has lived in many different parts of the world. Through a mutual friend, we became friends, and that friendship has grown over the years. She encouraged me during the time that I was dumped after a four-year relationship by my Dutch lover and told me that he was not “the one” for me but that God had someone very special for me out there somewhere. In 2013, when I met Dimitris, it was she who gave me the most encouragement. She is now a friend to both of us, and we owe her so many debts of gratitude and encouragement. Kathy Fink, you are our friend, and we treasure your friendship, dear lady.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Wonderful Encourager

  1. Dimitris Tsitsiras says:

    And she is like mother to me here in the States. Lots of love to my 2nd mom , Dimitris

  2. Don Walker says:

    Such a wonderful tribute to your friend! And congratulations to you and Dimitris – love always wins in the end!

    • bobosbest says:

      What a nice compliment, and Dimitris and I can’t figure out who you are. Please identify yourself so that we can thank you for the very kind words…and please keep reading.

Leave a Reply

