A Very Important Person

When I reached 62 years old and was eligible for Medicare, I was invited by Humana health insurance to a luncheon where the representative presented to us retirees a new plan called Medicare Advantage. It meant that, instead of having a monthly premium, Humana would take the Medicare money paid to me monthly in my Florida retirement pension check. That plan has worked very well for me including leading me to my primary care physician, Dr. Bonnie Lloyd. I had previously had a male doctor and had some misgivings at first regarding Dr. Lloyd’s gender, but she soon disarmed me and made me realize that I had a physician who cared not only for my physical health but for my mental health as well. I never felt rushed in her office and gradually came to confide in her regarding how I was dealing with my gayness. She was completely understanding and offered me encouragement during the time that I was courting Dimitris. Trusting your physicians is so important. I’m pleased that I have someone of the caliber of Dr. Lloyd who keeps me both healthy and happy.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Very Important Person

  1. Anonymous says:

    getting too cute about the beautiful people that surrounds you.. lol… the car mechanic,the doctor,, Craig the neon fixer,,, Frank Capra is an old fashioned director,,,hehehe,,a big hug Eido

  2. Ken says:

    I, too, have a female primary care doctor and have for about 15 years. When she took over my previous physician’s practice, the first thing I asked was if she had any issues with me being gay. She did not. When I put John on my insurance and she was no longer taking new patients, she welcomed him. I’ve made that question the first thing I ask when I am referred to any other doctor. Their including him in all consultations and treatments have been so important, especially with my cancer and stroke treatment and follow-up. Having the right doctor(s) does indeed keep one healthy and happy.

Leave a Reply

