“Nextdoor” Neighbor

A friend of ours in our neighborhood has started a group entitled “Nextdoor” and includes many people who live in this area of the city. Membership is voluntary, and I signed up Dimitris and me right away. Last year, our neighborhood had its first ever block party, and I met many neighbors with whom I had not previously been acquainted. Dimitris was away at that time so missed meeting the new people I met. Part of the “Nextdoor” attraction is a place to write about things that you needed to be done that you could not get done yourself. My problem was not being able to replace the fluorescent lights in my kitchen, a task I had been unable to do because of a short stepladder and my own deficient equilibrium. After I placed the request, I soon had a response from a fellow who lived five avenues north of me. He wrote, not only offering to install the lights but offering to bring over his ladder. The new lights are now shining, and our kitchen is once again bright. Thank you Craig. You are indeed a good neighbor.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

