My Grammar School Sweetheart

Last week, I had a phone call from a voice from the past. When I was in elementary school at Florida Street School in Clinton, South Carolina, we were allowed to crown a king or queen on our birthdays. Although I crowned Molly Jean Freeman, I wanted to crown Jane Todd. However, Molly needed to be crowned so I did the gracious thing. Jane Todd is now Jane Todd Presseau and was the caller. She and her husband Jack were making a trip from their home in Flat Rock, North Carolina, to St. Petersburg where Dimitris and I live. I encouraged them to come down and promised to show them around although they were going to have only a limited amount of time. They arrived, and we rode out to St. Pete Beach, went up to Spinners, the revolving restaurant; saw the Don CeSar hotel, crossed the picturesque Bayway and ended up at one of my favorite restaurants, Kissin’ Cuzzins. What a joy to renew fellowship with Jane and to meet her husband Jack. We both graduated from Clinton High in 1956, a “thousand” years ago.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

