Pulling the Plug

During one of the coldest mornings of this recent cold spell, I stopped in the hall to check the thermostat. I am the cold-natured member of this family and freeze in the house even at 70 degrees. In order to read the digital counter on the thermostat, you must look at it directly so, at first, I thought I did not have my head at the right angle. However, that was not the case–the thermostat was not working. My realization that this was a real emergency occurred when I remembered that it was Sunday morning. I recalled from my last air conditioner/heater emergency that Bayside Heating and Air has a big service charge if they must come out on a Sunday. Could we survive the day and night without heat? I wasn’t sure. Dimitris was the one who decided to check out the unit which resides in a closet in the hallway. When he did, he called me to show me the plug hanging out of the socket. When he plugged it in, the compressor came on immediately. Evidently, Dimitris had been ironing clothes and, when he put the ironing board back in the closet, the plug had come out. The heat felt so good.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

