“What Do You Want, Thief?”

With all the controversy regarding gun safety and keeping guns out of the hands of the mentally disturbed or people who threaten our country, it is important that everyone take every means possible to make their homes safe and secure. When I had my house built, the architect warned me that putting a sliding glass door in my bedroom that opened to the backyard was making that part of my house insecure. However, I wanted that sliding glass so much that I had it installed and put a motion detection light outside so I could feel I had adequate security at that back door. Recently, I have been watching TV and have seen a curious advertisement, which evidently is the latest in home protection–the Ring Video Doorbell. In the commercial, we see the housebreaker press the bell and see the lady talking to him, thereby supposedly thwarting the burglary. My question is: What thief is going to ring the doorbell? I like the idea but question the effectiveness of such a doorbell.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “What Do You Want, Thief?”

  1. Dimitris Tsitsiras says:

    If I got it right about this commercial sound stupid. Ha ha

  2. Pat says:

    A broomstick in that door groove would be a good deterent. Of course, you would have to remember to remove it when you open the door. So enjoy your posts. Re-reading Jackie’s books and laughing and crying over the memories.

Leave a Reply

