Unfearing

The times seem so challenging–terrorism, catastrophic storms, ISIS, Donald Trump. I would like to suggest that, as scary as things appear today, the “old days” were certainly not fearless, only different fears. Have you thought about pre-automobile days when horses pulled wagons and left their waste everywhere? The smell frequently was unbearable. People had to deal with the death of young family members because life expectancy was shorter. The access to medications was limited. Hot water was not readily available. Yes, we live at a time when everyone is warning us to be afraid. I, for one, think I will not buy into that idea as I can remember in my early years before air conditioning when I dreaded sitting through the heat during church services in South Carolina in the summer.Yes, today’s fears are different but not so different from the fears in the past, many of which were life or death fears. My goal is to live without fearing the things that I cannot control. Life is too precious to spend time fearing the unknown.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

