One of the Best Pictures of 2015

My brother, Jackie K. Cooper, is a movie/book critic. He writes his reviews for the Huffington Post. He also posts on Facebook a two-minute movie review once a week. I appreciate his opinions and have agreed with his assessment of movies like “Woman in Gold” with Helen Mirren, which he recommended highly. However, I just read his list of the ten best movies of 2015, and it included a real dud, in my opinion. It was “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.” My partner did not make it through the first half hour of the movie and, while I finished it, I wondered, when I got through the film, what in the world my brother saw in this movie that would elevate it to one of the top ten of the year. To me, the movie was a movie for teenagers, a mixture of comedy and tragedy that did not work. I never understood why Earl, the main character’s friend, was even in the movie as he did not seem to add anything to the film story. I checked and IMDb gave it a 7.8 while Rotten Tomatoes rated it 82%. I’m afraid I agree more with these two film critics than I do with my brother, who defends it by saying that he and his wife both liked it.

Me and Earl

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One of the Best Pictures of 2015

  1. EIDO says:

    what are the other movies in the list?? …I am curious Eido

  2. Dimitris Tsitsiras says:

    Now many they would like to watch this dud movie! : – )

Leave a Reply

