Barefoot Boy

When I was growing up in Clinton, SC, a town of about 10,000 people at that time, going barefoot as a youngster was accepted and encouraged. In some ways, we were like Asians in that, as soon as we walked into the house, we kicked off our shoes. Even going barefoot outdoors was acceptable for all informal occasions. When I was in elementary school, at some point in the spring when the temperature reached summertime warmth, the school principal would issue a “decree” permitting the elementary students to come to school barefoot. Although that declaration did not apply to high school students, they too would have their shoe’s off day before graduation. Their permission would come in the form of “Senior Barefoot Day.” I still go barefoot often in the house and occasionally even outdoors. Dimitris has never heard of such a thing and calls me a redneck. I don’t mind.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barefoot Boy

  1. Dimitris Tsitsiras says:

    Coming from the Capitol of Greece (Athens) I have never seen in my life somebody who will walk around without shoes and always inside the house, we are wearing sleepers. So? for me love, you are a redneck. : – )

  2. Anonymous says:

    I AM A REDNECK TOO…BECAUSE IN MY SUMMERS IN THE POOR VILLAGE OF RACALMUTO AT THE END OF THE FORTIES, IN AN ITALY DEVASTATED BY WWII, MANY KIDS WERE SO POOR THAT COULDNT AFFORD SUMMER SHOES… I WAS COMING FROM MILANO ,A BIG CITY WHERE I WAS LIVING A BETTER LIFE, SO WITHOUT TELLING MY MOM WHEN I WAS PLAYING WITH THOSE KIDS I WAS HIDING MY SHOES AND WENT BAREFOOT SO I WOULDNT EMBARASS THEM..IT WAS WONDERFUL! ! I LIVE IN RACALMUTO PART OF THE YEAR NOW ,AND THOSE KIDS,NOW MEN IN THEIR 70S LIKE ME,STILL REMEMBER MY KINDNESS AND SOMETIME THE SUBJECT STILL COMES UP WHEN WE GO BACK TO MEMORY LANE.. YES THOM I AM A REDNECK TOO AND PROUD OF BEING ONE! EIDO

Leave a Reply

