My Shirt of Many Colors

Every man has at least one shirt that is his favorite. Mine is my “shirt of many colors.” This shirt was given to me by a friend, and I have probably worn it more than any other shirt I have ever owned. I was married recently in this shirt. The shirt shows up in many photographs where the occasion has some importance. The shirt has twice been in danger. Once, when I was cruising with friends, they offered to have my shirt cleaned as they had shipboard laundry privileges. I accepted their offer gratefully but became upset when the package of laundry was returned minus my beautiful shirt. Of course, it was rather easy to describe as the shirt of many colors. Fortunately, the ship’s laundry department located it. The next dire circumstance that occurred with this shirt happened when I had a spot on my arm that bled. I used a stain remover on the sleeve that did not work. I soaked it in peroxide without success. I gave up and sent it to the cleaners, pointing out the blood stain but doubting that they could remove it. I don’t know what they used, but it worked, and my shirt came clean once more. The best compliment came from a lady airport attendant who remarked that my shirt was the most beautiful shirt she’d ever seen.

IMG_0932

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Shirt of Many Colors

  1. Dimitris Tsitsiras says:

    That lady at the airport was in Dubai when we went to check in for our return flight to Athens via Doha, Qatar by Qatar airways. She loved it. Dimitris

  2. Anonymous says:

    I HAVE ONE LIKE THAT TOO..ACTUALLY I WAS WEARING IT LAST SATURDAY WHEN WE WENT TO CARRABBA!…EIDO

Leave a Reply

