Timely

I don’t know where I learned that being on time was one of the traits I wished to cultivate. Perhaps it came from my strong desire to please. I don’t know but, along with my anal personality, it has become a negative rather than a positive. I would rather be twenty minutes early to an appointment rather than five minutes late. In my mind, being on time is proof that you respect the person with whom you made the promise of a timely meeting. What I must also admit though is that not everyone shares my belief that being on time is the most important trait anyone can possess. I have learned that friends do not necessarily feel the same pressure to be on time. What I must admit is that sometimes being on time is not the most important thing in the world. I must continually talk to myself, telling myself that the world is not going to end if I am a few minutes late. As you know, I was recently married, and my Greek partner has a very casual attitude toward being on time. I have tried to teach him that you can use the pause button on the computer and that an unfinished e-mail can be completed at another time. So far, my attempt to teach promptness has not been translatable into Greek.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Timely

  1. Dimitris Tsitsiras says:

    No comment!!!!

  2. arcadian48 says:

    I definitely share your importance of being on time. Doctor’s appointments, piano performances, dinner with friends, anything at all and I make SURE I’m there early. Like you it bothers me SO much to be running late!

  3. Tommy says:

    Casual = less stress.

  4. Pat says:

    I have that same trait. I want to be early. I depend on special transportation for dr appointments, and I really get the shakes if bus is not here when I think it should be. I agree, we show our respect for the other person when we are early or at least on time.

Leave a Reply

