Crucial Information

For far too long, I have been dealing with leg pain. Because I have a high pain tolerance level, I have dealt with that pain fairly well. However, I have reached the point where I need to know why the pain is there and how I can rid myself of the pain which keeps me from enjoying many activities, such as shopping and traveling. My primary care physician listened to my concern and recommended that I have an x-ray of my lower back. The x-rays showed that I do have some problems with deteriorating discs. Following the x-rays, she recommended that I follow-up with an MRI which, hopefully, would lead to a diagnosis. When I showed up for the MRI, I was asked if I had any stents. When I confirmed that I did, having had stents inserted on two different occasions, I was told that I needed to provide the radiology office with information regarding the kinds of stents before I could have the MRI. Returning home, I went to my computer and found in my scans information regarding the stents installed when I had a heart attack in 2011. However, I found nothing regarding the stents inserted when I had angioplasty in 1999. What I did find, thanks to my journal writing, was the date of my angioplasty. When I provided that information to the hospital where the operation had been done, they located my discharge papers which included information about the stents. The radiology department had the information they needed, and the MRI went as planned. Journaling paid off.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crucial Information

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hope you get a good report from the MRT. I recently saw soething about pain relief. 1/4 teasoon of turmeric a day. The recommend taking it with a peanut butter cracker to cover the taste. Thinking seriously about trying this to get rid of foot pain I have for no reason. Hope your Thanksgiving was a good one.

    • bobosbest says:

      Dear Commenting friend–I appreciate so your reading my blogs and commenting, but I have no idea who you are. Did you also write about teeth problems? Keep commenting but tell me your name.

Leave a Reply

