Warmth and Coldth

I know there are many people who ask, “How in the world can you stand the summer heat and humidity in Florida? Don’t you miss the change of seasons?” Well, I was raised in South Carolina, which is smack dab in the heart of Dixie. Carolina summers can be extremely hot, but the winters are mild compared to the chill of the northern states. As a South Carolinian, I froze to death in the so-called temperate winters. It was not just cold in my home state; the cold was the kind that was not cold enough for snow but cold enough to be bone-chilling. So, what did I do? I moved to west-central Florida which is known for its sea-breeze summers and mild winters. I must admit that I’ve never been as susceptible to the discomfort of heat as I am to cold, and I found out that this area too can have its spells of cold weather in the wintertime. Getting warm after being cold usually necessitates water heat as air heat does little to dispel a chill for me. Because I need the water heat for relief, that usually means getting into the tub and immersing myself in water as hot as I dare. There is nothing so healing and soothing as a tub of hot water. However, the problem I have with that now at age 77 is getting in and out of the tub. Now, that is not a pretty sight but worth the effort when I’m cold.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

