The War on Terror

I remember well when President Bush announced the war on terrorism. At the time, I questioned, “How does the world declare war on an abstract entity? Where do we go to drop bombs? What do our intelligence agencies look for and where do they look?” This past weekend, ISIS attacked Paris, France, killing many young people who were at a concert, in a restaurant, with its goal including detonating a bomb inside the stadium where a soccer match was being held. Now we have an enemy with a name other than just “terrorism.” ISIS is a caliphate, is located now in several countries, and has challenged the world to prevent its terrorizing the “infidels” who do not share their belief in Islamic extremism. My answer regarding how best to deal with this threat is weak, but I realize that it is imperative that ISIS be stopped and decapitated. I understand President Obama’s reluctance to declare another war in the Mid-East as he has tried so hard to prevent us from being involved in never-ending wars. I hope everyone will pray for wisdom as our elected officials deal with this terrorism threat.

About Thom

I am an 85-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment