My 10-Mile Rides

I have written in the past about my aversion to exercise. However, I probably exercise about as much or more than the average person my age. Why? Because I believe it will keep me healthier than I would be if I did not exercise. So far as those people who brag about how much they enjoy exercising, I’m not in their camp. My exercise is done at the “Y” where I ride a bike for 40 minutes plus a 2-minute cool-down. While riding, I read. Otherwise, I would be bored to death. I could watch TV instead of reading, but I feel that I am at least stimulating my brain rather than being a bike-riding couch potato. If anyone will talk with me, I’m perfectly willing to close the book and chat, but that seldom happens as most of my compadres have ear plugs and are listening to whatever they have chosen to hear during their exercising. When I come to the end of my time and have worked off at least 300 calories and ridden more than ten miles, then I heave a sigh of relief that it is over, and I head home for my shower.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

