New Words in your Ears

I love vocabulary study. If you have ever been in an English class of mine, you would be pushed to learn more and more vocabulary. Because I feel that vocabulary is so important, I watch for new words when I read and when I am listening to someone speaking whom I respect. Recently, the assistant pastor of my church used a word I had never heard of. To be honest, I figured (since I love to tease him about being from Georgia) he might have mis-spoken and there was no such word. Being unable to determine the spelling by the pronunciation, I wrote him and got the spelling. Have you ever heard of the word “pericope?” It means “a selection or extract from a book.” I now have a that new word. The other word that I recently heard on TV shows is the word “meme.” I have discovered that that word means “a cultural item in the form of an image, video, phrase, etc., that is spread via the internet and often altered in a creative or humorous way.” Good luck with those two news words.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Words in your Ears

  1. Tommy says:

    I doubt I will be using either of those words……I have enough trouble using some other lesser used words already!

Leave a Reply

