Lords of the Rings

Finally, I can tell the story of our wedding rings. I was the one who had the idea to purchase them in Dubai. We had visited Dubai in 2014 and planned to return in 2015, which we did. We headed to the area called the souk where there were many booths bargaining with gold and silver. We made about three stops before we found a merchant who was willing to meet our price after Dimitris did some haggling. He okayed the deal by confirming that we were his lucky first customers of the day. We had wedding rings but no wedding, and we were in Athens, Greece. Dimitris and I agreed that we would each wear our ring back to Florida. On the morning that I left (two weeks before my partner was to leave), I put on my ring, proud that I could try it out ahead of the wedding. When I arrived in Zurich, I had a layover and during that time I went to the restroom to wash my hands. Suddenly, the ring slipped off and fell into the sink. Fortunately, the sink had a cover, but the accident took my breath away, and I moved the ring further up my finger. Boarding the plane, I was on an aisle seat and helped my seatmate store some items in the overhead. As I stretched to reach the overhead bin, someone in the aisle said, “Is this yours?” It was my ring which had slipped off again. The rest of the trip, I had the ring in my pocket and kept touching it to make sure it was still there.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lords of the Rings

  1. Tommy says:

    Does it fit better now?

Leave a Reply

