Immigration

In May of every year, many of my closest friends leave Florida and head to other climes where the summers are cooler. They are my “emigrant” friends who abandon me for the summer. I miss them very much, especially the meals and fellowship we generally share during the months they are here. Thank heavens for baseball which helps me with evenings spent at home without these friends. Now it is October, and my away friends are beginning to “immigrate” back to Florida as the morning air cools and the afternoon air doesn’t reach the highs it attained all summer. My friends in Orlando have already arrived back “where they belong.” My Italian friend, who spends six months in Italy, has returned. My North Carolina friends will be leaving the mountains on November 2nd, and my Paradise, California, friends will return on December 2nd. So, while immigration continues to be a challenge for the government, my “immigrant” friends, who are not snow birds but just “birds,” seem to have no problem as they wend their way home. Welcome home to Florida, friends.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

