A Silent Birth

On October 18, 1965, I wrote in my journal that the kids were ornery in my 9th grade classes  at Lealman Junior High. I blamed misconduct on the weather which was overcast and cool with a mist in the air. Two of my best friends, Chuck and Sharon Lembright, had just gotten married and had sent me pictures of the wedding party of which I was a member. Another friend, Linda Madden, had written telling me that my personal letters showed me to have writing skills. She was encouraging me to write something for publication. The most immediate concern though was getting report cards ready. The stock market hit an all-time high. President Lyndon Johnson was recovering from surgery. We teachers were being urged to contribute to the United Fund. Across the world in Greece, Maria Tsitsiras had gone to the hospital after experiencing labor pains. She delivered a healthy baby boy whom she named Dimitrios. If only I had known that the person who would bring me such joy and happiness had been born in Athens, Greece. I would not know that for 48 more years. Happy birthday tomorrow my wonderful partner.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Silent Birth

  1. arcadian48 says:

    I’m really pleased to see the happiness you two have found together.

  2. Dimitris Tsitsiras says:

    I thank God who sent you on my path after 48 years so I can have a better life!
    A life that I always wanted to have. Love you very much, Dimitris

Leave a Reply

