The Mirage

I am blessed with good sleep habits. I go to sleep quickly most of the time, awaken a couple of times during the night to either urinate or check the time. I go back to sleep very quickly even when the time is approaching for me to get up and start my day, which is always 5:00 am. This morning, I woke and glanced at the clock. It was 4:05. My next awakening was, according to my bedside clock, 4:51 which meant I had only nine more minutes before I would get up. I rolled over and dozed and awakened next certain that the nine minutes must have already passed. When I glanced again at the clock, it read 4:40. I still had twenty minutes. How could that be? Had I seen a mirage? The reality is that when I wake and glance at the clock, I’m doing so without my glasses and with my eyes still full of early morning sleepiness. Who cares? I’m retired. I never set an alarm but just get up when I hear my chiming clock at 5:00. That should help identify me as a morning person. My bed will be ready for me again tonight between 9:30 and 10:00.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mirage

  1. Rans says:

    Dear.
    I usually read ur words as I get ur news letter. U are honest one. I see ur heart on the words.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

