It Ain’t Always What You Think

One of my favorite vacation spots is Blowing Rock, North Carolina. I have been there numerous times, staying in a garage apartment. The town is, or at least was the last time I was there, quaint. The air is refreshing, and the scenery is awesome. The spot for which Blowing Rock gets its name is frequented by vacationers. It is a rock that juts out over a cliff, giving a panoramic view of the mountains. Recently, I watched a movie on DVD which had trailers before the main feature. One of the trailers, entitled “Goodbye Solo,” was about two men–one white and the other black–who were traveling together with the goal of reaching Blowing Rock, NC. I was fascinated, mainly because I am so familiar with the area. I immediately checked with my library to see if they had this movie, found it, and put it on reserve. Shortly thereafter, I was notified that the DVD was available and was being held in my name. The movie turned out to be a frustrating trip by the two men who finally reached the Blowing Rock destination. When they reached their goal with a couple of views of the blowing rock, the movie abruptly ended. It was at best a 4 out of 10.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Ain’t Always What You Think

  1. Tommy says:

    Blowing Rock is a lot closer than Greece…….hint, hint!

Leave a Reply

