Information Please

In 1966, the Reader’s Digest published a little story entitled “Information Please.” I was at that time a Reader’s Digest reader, spending most of my time on the little funny items under the title of “Life in the United States.” “Information, Please” is a well-written story about a child and a telephone operator. It hit me right where it should have, tugging at my heart-strings and reminding me of the intimacy between people and their local telephone operators. My cousin, Sue, was an operator in my little hometown of Clinton, South Carolina. Occasionally, when I would pick up the phone and the operator asked, “Number, please,” I would detect that it was cousin Sue’s voice and ask for Aunt Myrtle rather than giving her the phone number. She might say, “Tommy, she’s at the beauty parlor. Call back in about an hour.” Now that was intimacy and convenience rolled into one. Look up “Information Please” on any search engine and read the story. You’ll love it, especially if you remember telephone operators.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

