Questioning Right and Wrong

When Kim Davis refused to issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples, I understood from my Southern Baptist background that she was operating from her fundamentalist understanding of the Bible. While the gay part of me decried her stand, the Christian part of me argued that she had every right to stand her ground based on what she thought was her moral responsibility. However, as I study the journal entries I wrote back in the 60’s, it seems to me that her reasoning is comparable to the stand George Wallace, Ross Barnett, and other southern governors who stood in the door of colleges took, refusing to allow black students to enter schools. They also thought that their stand was morally sound and the right thing to do. Just as the Christian church has had to apologize for defending slavery, I believe that the Christian church is beginning to realize the lack of love when dealing with gay people. As someone has said, homophobia is one of the last legal prejudices.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

