In Order to be Great

One of the high school courses I taught was American Literature. It is impossible to teach that class without including Ralph Waldo Emerson. Emerson is not the kind of writer who draws in the average high school student, but I used some of his sayings to arouse the interests of my students. Emerson said, “A foolish consistence is the hobgoblin of little minds.” How many high school students have fallen into a rut and make the same mistakes over and over. “Imitation is suicide” was another saying that applied to my students who very much wanted to be like someone else or envied someone else’s talents. Finally, “To be great is to be misunderstood.” If you never stand for anything and fight for it, you will never have been more than an ordinary person. Most of my students were aiming for greatness. Yes, Emerson was relevant to my 10th graders.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Order to be Great

  1. I wish I would have paid more attention in high school. Re-reading Emerson now and I am very inspired.

Leave a Reply

