Racial Progress

When I hear people talking about the improvement in race relations, I would concur that certain aspects of race relations are indeed better. I would back this opinion up when I remember what my principal said when he informed our faculty that the first black teacher had been assigned to the junior high school where I was teaching. His announcement was: “We’re lucky. She doesn’t smell.” That lady went on to become a very wonderful teacher of mathematics at our school and later at St. Petersburg Junior College. I wouldn’t expect to hear something that blatantly offensive any more. However, the treatment that our first black President has received is a strong indicator that the relationship between blacks and whites is still tenuous. Ms Cummings became a good friend of mine who insisted on riding in the back seat when I gave her a ride. At least, that wouldn’t happen today, I would hope.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

