What If?

Every fall, I know I’m going to have to pay out a large sum of money for my long-term health insurance. Thank goodness, I took out this policy years ago and can count on it to kick in during my later years. I have used it once when I had my right knee replaced in 2004. At that time, I was living alone and knew that I could not care for myself immediately after the surgery. Although I have the payment on my calendar, I start bracing in August for making that $1500 payment. Since it is due on September 5th, I put it in the mail slot on August 31st, knowing it would arrive in plenty of time. Early that morning, Dimitris told me that the envelope with the payment had been picked up. When I asked if there were any mail, he replied that there was not. In the afternoon, Dimitris called to me to tell me there had been a mail delivery. How could that be? Who picked up my payment in the mail slot this morning? I had written a check to the company as payment so knew that no one could cash the check, but what if someone took it hoping that I had mailed cash? What if the insurance company did not receive the payment? Why would someone come to our door and take the letter? Then a thought came to me: what if someone had delivered something? And they had…a package containing a digital blood pressure machine I had ordered was sitting in the chair on the porch. Thank you, Fed Ex, for picking up and mailing my insurance payment.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What If?

  1. Tommy says:

    I didn’t know that FedEx would handle outgoing U.S. Postal Service mail.

Leave a Reply

