Windows 10 BooBoo

On July 29th, I waited all day to hear from Microsoft that I could install Windows 10, giving up my Windows 7. Finally, I received a note saying that my reservation was good but that I might not be notified to install Windows 10 for days or even weeks. Meanwhile, my good friend Tom Walker received his notification on the first day Windows 10 was available. My spouse was notified two weeks later. I was still in limbo. Checking with Jim Scott, a computer friend, I was advised to go ahead and download the files manually. Now that was scary, but Jim urged me to do so, promising to back me up if anything went wrong. Well, nothing did go wrong–at least not until later in the day of the download and installation when the starter discs refused to go into the background and other processes became unusual and complicated. It was my buddy BJ Alexander who came to my rescue by checking in the settings and finding that the tablet icon was checked “on.” Switching that tab to off made the computer come alive again. I am now president of the Windows 10 fan club and so very grateful to my computer guru friends.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Windows 10 BooBoo

  1. Tommy says:

    I am happy for you that you like “10”, unlike my experience with it. “8.1” and I are buddies once again…..

Leave a Reply

