Sauna

For years, while traveling to places like Istanbul and Scandinavia, I imagined how wonderful it would be to go to a sauna, sit around naked but for a towel, and watch the weight drip off, ounce by ounce. Well, I didn’t make it to the saunas in Istanbul nor in Scandinavia. It took a trip in 2014 to Finland to realize that dream. In Finland, my partner and I were staying with a born and raised Finn, who had built his own sauna. We watched him gather the wood and put it into the furnace that would heat the sauna. Finally, it was hot and ready and into the sauna we went. There were three tiers of seats, and I sat with Juha and Dimitris on the top tier for about five minutes before I realized I could not handle that kind of heat. I couldn’t breathe. I immediately moved to the bottom seats where I could feel some cold air drifting in through the slightly cracked door. My dreams of pleasure and an exotic setting cascaded off me with each glob of sweat. I ended up sitting outside while the other two basked. Sometime things just aren’t what you think they are going to be.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

