Dumb Bobo

When I was teaching in the English department at Northeast High School, I taught both regular and advanced classes. The advanced classes were a breeze as they contained students who were intelligent and eager to learn The regular classes could sometimes be quite a challenge. What I insisted on, regardless of the caliber of the class, was honesty and trust. When my literature textbook was stolen, I was not only angry but disappointed. I knew which class housed the student that had stolen it, but I didn’t know the student. The first day after the thievery, I got the class settled before removing my wallet and laying it on my desk so that all of the students could see it. My lecture was in regard to my trusting my students and counting on their trust so much that I wish I could lay my wallet down like that and know that, even if I left the room, it would still be there when I returned. I felt that I had made my point until one of my students with a “million” gold chains around his neck approached me after all the other students had left and said, “Mr. Cooper, I hope you won’t do that. That’s the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

